Select Page

African Union Free Trade Agreement Pdf

As a first step, 44 countries signed the agreement on 21 March 2018. Nigeria was one of 11 African Union nations that initially did not sign. The Protocol on Free Movement aims to create a visa-free zone within the AfCFTA countries and to support the creation of the African Union passport. [27] At the Kigali Summit on March 21, 2018, 44 countries signed the AfCFTA, 47 the Kigali Declaration and 30 the Protocol on the Free Movement of Persons. Although it was a success, there were two notable holdouts: Nigeria and South Africa, The two largest economies in Africa. [28] [29] [30] Sierra Leone, Namibia, Lesotho, Burundi and South Africa have since signed the AfCFTA at the 31st African Union Summit in Nouakchott. [50] As of July 2019, 54 states have signed the agreement. [51] After the Kigali summit, more signatures were added to the AfCFTA. . .